REALTORS® of South Central Kansas Logo

Get Your Real Estate License

We are pleased that you are interested in getting a Kansas real estate license and are here to help.  

In order to gain a Kansas real estate license, you must:
  • Be at Least 18 Years of Age
  • Have a High School Diploma or Equivalent
  • Complete Pre-License Education for Salesperson License
    • Principles of Real Estate course (30 hours).  Upon completion of this course, you will receive a certificate of completion and you are now able to take the licensing exam. ($190 individually, but taken in same month as Kansas Practice Course - pay only $175)
      • Classes held in January - February - April - June - July - August - October 
      • Formats available: Weekdays - Monday thru Thursday / Weekends - Saturdays & Sundays / Weekend plus Weekday Evenings - Saturday with Tuesday & Thursday Evenings
    • Kansas Practice course (30 hours). The course is required for all Kansas residents and for all nonresidents and may be completed either before or after the licensure exam. Upon completion of the course, the school will issue a certificate of completion which must be filed with the license application. ($190 individually, but take in same month as Principles of Real Estate - pay only $175.)
      • Classes held in January - February - April - June - July - August - October 
      • Formats available: Weekdays - Monday thru Thursday / Weekends - Saturdays & Sundays / Weekend plus Weekday Evenings - Saturday with Tuesday & Thursday Evenings
  • Complete a KBI/FBI Background Check. Fingerprint cards are available from course providers, at KS licensing exam centers, or may be requested from the Kansas Real Estate Commission. ($60) Download instructions and Waiver form (REL-150).
  • Pass the Licensing Exam. Both the general and state sections must be passed within 12 months of completing the Pre-License Education.
    • Download the Candidate Handbook at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/ for information on exam scheduling and procedures.
    • A License Application is provided with the passing exam score. OUR PASS RATE IS 95%
  • Complete Your Salesperson License Application. ($15 non-refundable and prorated fees)
    • Must be filed within one of the time frames listed below, whichever occurs earliest:
    • Six months of the exam pass date. If sections were passed on different dates, the earlier date starts the clock; or
    • Six months of the earliest document date (ex. Certificates, Reports, etc.).
    • The Application must be signed by a supervising or branch broker who will be responsible for supervising the applicant's real estate activities and who will certify that the applicant is honest, trustworthy and of good reputation.
    • A new salesperson license expires according to a staggered renewal schedule based on the first letter of the last name. Twelve hours of continuing education will be required by the first renewal due date. If the license expires less than 6 months from issuance, however, the 12 hours are not due until the second renewal date. License numbers for licensees in this category will begin with the letters “SA”.
    • An original license cannot be issued on inactive status.
    • The Application must be signed by a supervising broker or a branch broker if the applicant is not applying to be a supervising broker.

Not sure a career in real estate is right for you?  This information may help you decide.

COURSE SCHEDULE & REGISTRATION FORM

For questions, contact Cindi Ferguson, Professional Development Director via email or by calling 316-263-3167.